The penalties for a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) in Connecticut are among the toughest in the nation.  If you have been charged with a DUI, it is crucial that you take the charges against you seriously and hire an aggressive attorney. Even if you face first-time DUI charges, the penalties could negatively affect your life for a long time if you are convicted. Those convicted will have a permanent criminal record, could face jail time, fines, and license suspension and restrictions.

Aggressively Protecting Your Legal Rights

One of the best things you can do after being charged with a DUI is to hire an attorney to fight for you. You will need a DUI attorney with experience fighting and beating DUI charges in Connecticut. Our attorneys will be able to quickly review the facts of your case, identify a defense strategy and start protecting your rights immediately. When arrested for a DUI, the Connecticut DMV will seek to suspend your license within 30 days or less.  You have the right to a hearing but you must act fast or you may lose your ability to fight the suspension.  We can help.

In an effort to save your license from suspension, we will be present at the administrative hearing for your license. You will need to notify us immediately regarding the letter you receive from the DMV so we can schedule your hearing and fight your suspension. Reaching out to The Kaloidis Law Firm as soon as possible allows us to prepare your defense at the administrative hearing on day 1. 

What Constitutes a DUI in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, it is a misdemeanor for anyone with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It is also against the law for anyone under 21 to operate a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol concentration of .02% or higher.  A DUI however can be proven even if you refuse a blood alcohol test.  The sState can rely on the officer’s observations to prove intoxication.  We can defend your case regardless of how the State proceeds.

Am I Required to Submit to a Blood, Breath or Urine Test?

NO! You are not required to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test.  You are not required to submit to any tests at all.  In fact, we advise that you REFUSE ALL TESTS.

An arresting officer will offer a blood, breath, or urine test to determine your blood alcohol level.  The test selected is done at the discretion of the arresting officer; the choice which test to take rests with them.  You do not get to choose.   You do however have the right to refuse to take any test selected by the officer, but you could face additional penalties for doing so. Connecticut is one of many states that has an implied consent law. As a result, anyone driving a vehicle in Connecticut has given implied consent to submit to drug or alcohol testing. Whether you refuse to submit to or did submit to a chemical test and the results were over .08%, the arresting police officer must revoke your driver’s license for at least 24 hours. The officer will then submit the evidence against you to the DMV and the Court.

Do I Need a DUI Defense Attorney for a First-Time DUI Charge?

Absolutely. A first-time DUI may not carry the more severe and enhanced penalties that subsequent DUI offenses carry, but the penalties are serious enough that they can have a permanent impact on your life, career and future.  Hiring an experienced attorney to defend you in court is not only a good idea, but a must. The penalties for a first-time DUI include up to six months in jail, of which a minimum of two days in jail is mandatory. The fines range from $500 to $1,000, and your driver’s license will be suspended for 45 days. You must also install and pay to maintain an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle). In addition to criminal penalties, people arrested for DUI face administrative penalties including license suspensions. Our skilled attorneys handle both the criminal court and the administrative hearings. Where appropriate, we can help you obtain a reduced sentence, use of a diversionary program and in some instances, a dismissal of the charges. In some cases we can even avoid a license suspension as we have done many times for our client’s in the past.  

What if this is not my first DUI?  What happens for Second and Third Offenders?

If you are facing a repeat DUI, you CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go it alone.  You will be facing mandatory jail time for any subsequent conviction.  In Connecticut, anyone convicted of a second DUI within 10 years of the last conviction faces a minimum of 120 days in jail as well as a fine of $1,000 to $2,000.  Your license could be suspended and you will be required to install an IID for 3 years.  Do not try to defend such a case on your own.

If you are in the unfortunate situation of a possible Third conviction for DUI you are facing a significant fight.  You face a minimum of 1 year in jail, a $2,000 fine, and a permanent loss of your driver’s license.   Don’t put your future in the hands of an inexperienced attorney.  Trust a firm with a proven track record of over 20 years of fighting for people.

Winning Tactics to Get a DUI Charge Dropped in Connecticut

Many different legal defenses could apply to your case. Law enforcement officers must follow procedures and cannot violate a driver’s constitutional rights. If the law enforcement officer or officers who arrested you engaged in an illegal police stop without reasonable suspicion, this could be grounds to have your case dismissed in court. 

Suppose a law enforcement officer improperly administered a field sobriety or breathalyzer test. In that case, the court may throw out the evidence from these tests, making it difficult for the prosecutor to convict you. Attorney Kaloidis is trained in the performance of the field sobriety tests. He has received the same NHTSA Field Sobriety Testing training that police officers get. He knows what to look for and can highlight the officer’s failures.  In many instances, our attorneys know how to administer these tests better than the officers who are paid to do them.  In some local departments, officers are not even trained on how to use the breath testing machines.  We do. 

Finally, the police may have used a blood test to determine your blood alcohol content. If the sample was mishandled or the test was not administered properly, the court may throw out any evidence gained from the faulty test. Other legal defenses could apply in your case. An attorney can help you negotiate a better plea deal if getting your case dismissed is not an option. At The Kaloidis Law Firm, LLC, we will evaluate your case and decide the best legal strategy to fight the prosecution’s case against you aggressively.

Schedule a Case Evaluation with an Aggressive DUI Defense Attorney 

DUI charges can lead to devastating consequences, especially if you have already been convicted of drunk driving in the past. If you or your loved one have been arrested for a DUI in Waterbury, Connecticut, or the surrounding area, The Kaloidis Law Firm, LLC attorneys are here to help. We have decades of experience providing tenacious legal representation and may be able to get your charges dismissed. Depending on the facts of your case, we can help you qualify for a diversionary program to minimize the penalties you face. Contact The Kaloidis Law Firm, LLC, to schedule a case evaluation and learn more about how we can fight for you.